narminletsthesunshinein

Just another WordPress.com site

Pluralism in action

on January 25, 2012

I’m thrilled to be the newest board member for the Edmonton Heritage Festival Association.

The Heritage Festival is one that I have been attending since I was a kid. In fact, I love this festival so much that I came home as soon as possible two years in a row after running Leg1 of the Death Race just so I could attend the final day of the Festival. That’s dedication, eh? It’s also passion for a Festival that brings to life one of my passions – pluralism in action.

I love that this event is solely dedicated to celebrating the many and varied cultures by stressing the things that make us similar – great food, beautiful clothing, wonderful songs and dances, and a connection to our roots while celebrating the Canadian identity that binds us as one people.

And this celebration isn’t in spite of our difference, it’s a result of them. How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

