narminletsthesunshinein

Just another WordPress.com site

From the mouths of babes…

on February 1, 2012

I’ve already shared this story and I still think it’s worthy of wider distribution so now it’s part of my blog.

Earlier this month, E was going bowling for a school field-trip and he was super-duper excited about it. It was all he could talk about for days. He realized, on his own, that he’d have to explain to N how excited he was about his field trip and how N would have to help him make sure he wouldn’t be late for it by being a slowpoke in the morning. LOL

E reminded N that he was going on a field trip (N, do you know what tomorrow is? It’s my field trip!!!!!!!!!) and N knew E was really excited about it (Yeah, I know. You can’t stop talking about it.) LOL

E reminded N they’d have to hurry so that they could leave for school on time so E wouldn’t be late for his field trip. E then asked N what would help N be faster in the morning (N, do you want to brush your teeth first or second tomorrow so that we can be faster at getting ready in the morning?) And N suggested that E get to brush his teeth first at bed time but he would brush his teeth first in the morning.

N explained that this would mean they would both get to be first one time and also that if he’s first in the morning then he would hurry because he would know E was waiting for him.

I (re)learned two things: one, that if you want someone to cooperate with you, you need to give them the chance to decide how they will partner with you to achieve your goal (the fine art of negotiation as demonstrated to me by E) and second that when you get buy-in from someone by helping them be part of the solution, usually they will come up with win-win solutions (like N saying they both can be first at different times).

The morning of the field trip, N was up first (rarely the case normally) and he helped wake up E by reminding him about the field trip.

I love my nephews for so many reasons and one of the biggest reasons is because of how good they are to each other. There is no doubt that they are each other’s best friend and that they always have one another’s back. Makes me happy to know they watch out for each other whenever possible.

20120131-211414.jpg

11 responses to “From the mouths of babes…

  1. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  2. betoniarnia says:

    Keep doing good job man

  3. very nice post, i certainly love this web site, carry on it

  4. Iโ€™d have to verify with you here. Which is not something I often do! I enjoy studying a publish that can make individuals think. Also, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  5. Karie Couse says:

    There are some attention-grabbing closing dates on this article however I donโ€™t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There’s some validity however I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish extra! Added to FeedBurner as properly

  6. […] back and read some of my past posts about my nephews and if you have time for only one or two, read this one and/or this […]

Leave a Reply

