narminletsthesunshinein

Just another WordPress.com site

A pound of flesh

on February 7, 2012

As I approach my birthday, I realize I am unlikely to achieve my goal weight of 100 pounds. I have been sitting at 101/102 pounds since October and although my monthly measurements continue to show improvements, my weight is pretty much staying the same (today, I’m at 101 pounds).

I’ve mentioned to friends that Jillian Michaels says that the last 8-10 pounds are the toughest because those are considered “vanity pounds” and our bodies are at a healthy weight at this point.

It was helpful to see Get-Fit Guy’s article entitled How to Track Weigth Loss? (Hint: NOT on the Scale!). The article talks about body fat percentage, waist-hip circumference, and visual analysis as alternates to the scale. And all three of these tools indicate ongoing improvements for me – even the fact that I’ve gone from size 2 pants in November to size 1 pants in February is a good indication that my body continues to tone and change.

As I was packing last night for Mexico, I tried on some capris that I wore without a belt while in Mexico and on a cruise last year and realized that NONE of my capris fit without a belt anymore – and several don’t even need to be unbuttoned/unzipped for me to put them on or take them off. LOL

In all seriousness, I am using these experiences to reassure myself that 100 is just a number and one that I will likely achieve at some point this year and that even if I don’t, I am in the best shape of my life and that is something to celebrate on my birthday and every day.

So on that note, Brave Girls’ Club has a great message for me (and maybe for some of you): Your life is enough. You are enough. You do enough. You have enough. You are loved enough. You are amazing enough.

20120206-212736.jpg

Leave a Reply

