narminletsthesunshinein

Just another WordPress.com site

One Cup of Self Love

on March 16, 2012

 

I had a great experience of positive reinforcement after I stood up for myself yesterday and received an apology today. As assertive as I consider myself to be and despite all the times I encourage my family and friends to stand up for themselves (especially my nephews), I sometimes fail to speak up and then have an extreme reaction à la “straw that broke the camel’s back”.

Well, this time, I spoke up and was rewarded with acknowledgment and an apology. Yay for positive reinforcement for handling things the way I ought to. Woot!

Ironically, after I had this experience, I was reading through one of daily emails that I had missed yesterday. It was a message from Brave Girls’ Club and I had to laugh out loud. It really is incredible how the Universe will slap me upside the face with obviousness even if I can’t see the forest for the trees. I’m glad for the knowledge that someone has my back and I’m really proud of myself for stepping into my power on my own yesterday. Though seeing the BGC message today was excellent reinforcement, too.

Here’s an excerpt from the message:

One of the hardest things in the world to do, standing up for ourselves, really does get easier with practice. It truly does. We all have the right to respect and freedom. Your life, your beliefs, your values, your dreams, your freedom is worth standing up for. Dig deep to find conviction in what you truly believe in. And when it gets threatened, stand up for it. If you don’t do it, who will?

Like I said, I didn’t read the above message until today and had I read it yesterday, my standing up for myself might have come easier – as it stands, it is pretty fricken’ awesome how this message showed up for me on a day when I needed it, even if I didn’t see it when I needed to – somehow, the message still got through to me.

My friend, Rachel Foley, took this picture of me as part of an “I Am…” photo shoot. I chose the word “focused” with a bit of help from my consultants (a.k.a. friends and loved ones). When Rachel sent me the link to my pics yesterday, I knew this is the image that will stay in my mind the next time I stand up for myself.

Leave a Reply

