narminletsthesunshinein

Just another WordPress.com site

Words to Live By #5

on April 9, 2012

A bit late out of the gate with this week’s Words to Live By. Better late than never, though. 🙂

The past few days I have been thinking about the people in my life. I’m grateful to have had people from all walks of life influence who I am today. Some of those people are still a big part of my life – they are my forever friends. We can count on each other no matter the physical distance between us or where life has taken us. Life may get in the way of us having regular contact yet when we catch up, whether on the phone or in person or by email or Facebook – we simply pick up where we left off and it’s as though time has stood still for us.

I realize not everyone comes into my life to become a forever friend and yet, the ones who stayed for a while, wether long or short, have had an impact on me. They have taught me something, or left me with fun memories, or have influenced me in some way to become the next best version of myself. These are the season and reason friends and I am grateful for the role they played in my life.

“People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.”
~ Unknown

So yay for the reason and season friends. Not only do they get gratitude for whatever impact they’ve made on their own, but a double yay for them for making me ever more grateful for the forever friends who have become woven into the fabric of my life. And as I do my spring cleaning, along with the clothes and books and “stuff” I am cleaning out, I am allowing myself to let go of relationships that have concluded their reason or season and I’m rejoicing about the lifetime friends that grace my world and brighten my life.

Click here to read a full excerpt on the quote above.

Leave a Reply

