narminletsthesunshinein

Just another WordPress.com site

Think on These Things #11

on July 20, 2012

The poor don’t know that their function in life is to exercise our generosity.
~ Jean-Paul Sartre

A story from Makes Me Think: Today, I bought a homeless man a full sub from Subway in downtown Orlando. I don’t usually do this sort of thing, but he was sitting out front of the subway, looking extremely skinny and frail in the hot sun, and I just felt like it was the right thing to do. He was so happy, he tossed me two quarters out of his collection bin, and insisted that I keep them. On my drive home my toll transponder’s battery died, so I had to pay the last 50 cent toll in coins. I usually don’t have any coins on me, but today I had the 50 cents the homeless man gave me. MMT

It is one of the most beautiful compensations of this life that no man can sincerely try to help another without helping himself.
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson</

20120720-072816.jpg

Leave a Reply

