narminletsthesunshinein

Just another WordPress.com site

Musings from Down Under – Travel Babble Sunday, December 21, 2003 – NZ Message #1

on March 6, 2013

In light of the fact that I have entered my blog in a competition for the purpose of being rewarded by being cast off of North America, I thought it fitting to post my old “Travel Babble” messages, which hitherto have had a limited distribution. I hope you enjoy living vicariously through my travel escapades and adventures as much as I did the first go around and as much as I’ve enjoyed reviewing the experiences that shaped the woman I’ve become.

Without further ado…

Hi Everyone!

I made it – I have finally left North America! My wait at the LAX was long and I can’t say I really like that airport. But, I met several people who were on my flight to Auckland and that helped pass the time. I have to say that I’m surprised at the number of people who didn’t realize that Canada has a new PM – especially since this had such an impact on my last week at work.

My flight to Auckland was awesome – Air Canada could learn a lot from Qantas and maybe regain some of its lost business. But I digress. Every seat had its own entertainment centre, the plane was huge and the flight staff were super friendly and helpful. And all the
staff were equipped with accents…yup, I was in heaven.

Today is my second full day in Auckland and thankfully haven’t been too jet-lagged. It is beautiful here – and so warm. Yesterday hit 24 degrees, today it’s only 15 but hmm, it feels pretty much as warm as the average summer day in Edmonton. So, I’m definitely not complaining. After lazing around at the beach at Mission Bay, I spent part of the afternoon at the Auckland Zoo. I was really impressed by the way the animals’ natural habitats are maintained as best as they can be. And wow is there ever a wide variety of animals represented. I went to a half-hour talk about how some of NZ’s rare birds and animals are being protected and how populations are being grown for some of the species that are at-risk.

Veronica – you’ll be happy to know I watched Whalerider last night and I am now even more excited about experiencing some Maori culture during this trip.

Okay, time to head to the Auckland Museum. It’s a bit cool here today and it’s spitting rain so doing rainy-day activities. Hopefully we won’t have to be in a queue for too long. I’m showing off now with the NZ-speak I’ve been picking up. And I think I’m just about accustomed to driving on the “other side” of the road. Now if I can just get used to the idea that pedestrians don’t have the right of way (except for marked crossings) then I should do just fine.

Will write again when I can.

Narmin

20130306-184731.jpg

One response to “Musings from Down Under – Travel Babble Sunday, December 21, 2003 – NZ Message #1

Leave a Reply

